## **EXECUTIVE BOARD**

At a meeting of the Executive Board on Tuesday, 17 May 2016 in The Boardroom, Municipal Building

Present: Councillors Polhill (Chair), D. Cargill, Harris, R. Hignett, Jones, T. McInerney, Nelson, Philbin, Wharton and Wright

Apologies for Absence: None

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: A. Scott, D. Parr, I. Leivesley and M. Reaney

Also in attendance: None

## ITEMS DEALT WITH UNDER POWERS AND DUTIES EXERCISABLE BY THE BOARD

Action

## **EXB152 MINUTES**

The Minutes of the meeting held on 7 April 2016 were taken as read and signed as a correct record.

EXB153 APPOINTMENT OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That Council be recommended to

Chief Executive

- 1) appoint Councillor Polhill as Leader of the Council in accordance with the Council's Constitution; and
- 2) appoint Councillor Wharton as Deputy Leader of the Council for the 2016/17 Municipal Year.

EXB154 APPOINTMENT TO BOARDS, COMMITTEES, APPEALS PANEL, WORKING PARTY AND SCRUTINY CO-ORDINATOR POST AND THE APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTEES ON VARIOUS BOARDS

The Board considered a report of the Strategic Director, Community and Resources, regarding the appointments to the Council's Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel, Working Party and Scrutiny Co-ordinator and the appointment of a non-voting co-optee to the Health Policy

and Performance Board and the appointment of two non-voting Parish Council co-optees and two non-voting Independent co-optees to the Standards Committee.

The Board also considered the appointment of Independent Persons for the purposes of the Localism Act 2011.

A list of committee memberships was tabled at the meeting.

RESOLVED: That Council be recommended to

- agree the appointments to the Council's Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party for the Municipal Year 2016/17 with the representation put forward by each of the political groups;
- Strategic Director
   Community &
  Resources
- approve the nomination of Councillor A McDermott as the Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the Municipal Year 2016/17;
- 3) confirm the re-appointment as non voting co-optee of Mr Tom Baker as the Healthwatch Halton representative to the Health Policy and Performance Board for the Municipal Year 2016/17;
- confirm the re-appointment of Reverend David Felix and Mr Stephen Cluff as non-voting Parish Council co-optees to the Standards Committee for the Municipal Year 2016/17;
- 5) confirm the re-appointment of Mr Tony Luxton and Mrs Anita Morris as non-voting Independent cooptees to the Standards Committee for a period of four years; and
- 6) confirm the re-appointment of Professor David Norman, Mrs Diane Howard and Mr Roy Radley as Independent Persons for the purposes of the Localism Act 2011.